slow cooker pulled pork

Image-1Last week I was determined to break out of the dreaded dinner rotation we’ve found ourselves in. I stumbled on a recipe for slow cooker pulled pork that called to me for summer bbq season and decided to try it out while the rains were still pouring down on us. Turns out, I forgot to buy the seasoning packet my recipe called for so I ended up winging it with a rub. We loved it and have been having the pork in various versions for lunch all week.

What You Need 

1/3 Cup Cider Vinegar

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

1/2 Cup Ketchup

3 lb Boneless Pork Shoulder

1 Tbsp. Paprika

1 Tbsp. Mustard Powder

2 Garlic Cloves, Pressed

2 Tbsp. Sea Salt Salt

Dash Pepper

1 Tbsp. Chili Powder

What You Do

1. Combine paprika, mustard powder, garlic cloves, sea salt, pepper and chili powder to make a rub. Rub over pork shoulder and let marinate for an hour.

3. Mix brown sugar, ketchup and cider vinegar in bowl.

4. Place marinated pork shoulder in slow cooker. Add brown sugar mix over top.

5. Cook on low for 8 hours. Shred pork using a fork before serving.

One more thing…… We use slow cooker liners because there is nothing worse then trying to lug around that heavy pot to clean it. I still give it a little rinse but these make it SO much easier.

8 thoughts on “slow cooker pulled pork

  1. OMG, slow cooker liners!? Genius.. how have I never seen these before!! BTW, your J.Crew slips are no longer online.. the struggle for a new pair of slips is REAL :) Pulled Pork looks AMAZING, will have to try.

  2. Ah! hahah like just a few weeks ago I discovered slow cooker liners!!! GAME. CHANGER. I swear we used to let the slow cooker “soak” for days – and I know what that really was, neither us of wanted to clean it so we just told the other one “it needs to soak a little more” HA

Share Your Thoughts