at home acai bowls

IMG_3431

A few years ago on a trip to Hawaii we discovered Acai Bowls. Yogurt like bowls of fruit puree topped with everything from mango to almonds. We would stop at a little local hole in the wall juice bar, collect our bowl of frozen goodness and continue on to the beach. Since then, they’ve exploded all over the internet and are even served in some restaurants around Seattle. The major draw is probably the health benefits but for me, it’s more about the flavorful fruits that make a bowl.

A few days ago, a friend posted a photo of their delicious, overflowing Acai Bowl on Insta. (Just to tease me. I’m sure of it.)I could.not stop thinking about it and was determined to make one for myself. It took a little longer then I expected because I couldn’t find frozen Acai packets but we improvised by throwing a bottle of Acai juice into a Tupperware and freezing it overnight. It worked perfectly! If the packets also elude you, I found the juice at Safeway.

What You Need || 

acai: frozen packet or previously frozen juice

1 frozen banana

1 avocado

coconut milk

1 mango, chopped

strawberries, sliced

chai seeds

granola

What You Do ||

Blend the frozen Acai with the banana, avocado and 1/4 cup coconut milk. Keep adding milk and pureeing until you get a frozen yogurt type consistency.

Divide acai puree into bowls

Top with mango, strawberries, granola and chai seeds

The great thing about Acai Bowls is that there is no strict recipe. I’ve ordered them with scary sounding ingredients like peanut butter and pineapple and have never been disappointed. I don’t even think it would be too crazy to throw some leafy greens in with the puree. Play around with the ingredients and see what you like best. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “at home acai bowls

  1. Melissa, thank you so much for sharing this! I was at PCC last night and found some Acai packets in their freezer section so I pre-made a breakfast bowl that I am currently devouring right now… SO. GOOD.

    • Im so happy to hear this Courtney. Thank you for letting me know!!! Arent they amazing? And healthy to boost! Im so glad you mentioned PCC too. Ill be heading there for packets today.

  2. I’m glad I could be of assistance :) Am truly digging the acai bowls, but I made mine with coconut water like the packet said to and I think I’m going to follow your recipe from hear on in because my first batch was obvi a lot more slushy than yogurt. Thanks again lady! Btw, I’m glad you’re back to blogging.. I totally have you bookmarked and have been checking in occasionally :)

Share Your Thoughts

