vegan chocolate mousse

DSC_2217I can not tell you how excited I am that Lauren from sofreshNsogreen is guest posting for us today. In my house we eat meat but the photos that Lauren posts almost convince me to change my ways. I follow her blog as well as her Instagram and want to practically eat my phone every time a picture pops up. The bonus is that they don’t only look pretty, they are in fact amazing. So, I reached out to her and asked if she could come up with something that my M would eat as well. Let me tell you….she nailed it! I made this vegan chocolate mousse for a picnic about a week ago and have already made it twice since. Thanks Lauren!

DSC_2227

I’m Lauren, the vegan blogger of sofreshNsogreen and I make it my mission to come up with nutritious, plant-based recipes for my friends and followers that are anything but basic and boring. I think it’s important for people to realize that eating healthily can actually be super easy and super delicious, it just takes a bit of knowledge, preparation and some key go-to recipes in your arsenal….and this treat I whipped up for you would definitely be one of them.

Now I’m not gonna lie, when Melissa asked me to come up with a plant-based recipe that was not only delish by my standards but by her two-year-old daughter’s as well, I was honored but also intimidated. I’m not a parent (unless you count a dog parent?) and while I know quite a bit about food and an experienced palate, I know very little about the taste buds of a toddler. I racked my brain and my recipe book thinking of what a little one might like, and I finally came to the conclusion (which could totally be wrong) that every child has to like chocolate right?

Well by M’s standards I am, as Melissa relayed to me that M devoured the chocolate mousse recipe I decided upon (hallelujah)! So this recipe is now officially child-approved and MLB (that would be my meat-lovin’ boyfriend) approved, and I can certainly vouch for it’s awesomeness (I eat it at least once a week). It’s so awesome that it’s almost easy to forget how good it actually is for you too. Let me remind you-

1. It contains cacao powder, which is the darkest of dark chocolate, meaning it’s rich in flavor (so that a little goes a long way) and it’s also a top source of antioxidants, vitamins and minerals (the high levels have been shown to reduce your risk of cancer and amount of free radicals in the body).It’s also a much better alternative to conventional over-processed cocoa powder which usually contains sugar, fillers and have little to no nutritional value. I like Navitas Naturals, which you can find at most health food stores.

2. Helllllllooooooo avocado. I’m pretty much addicted to these babies as they have a way to enhance almost any recipe with their creamy texture and delish taste (i.e. this recipe). Affectionately dubbed the alphabet fruit (because of all the vitamins it contains) one avocado provides your body with vitamins A, C, E, K and B6, along with an enormous amount of potassium and “healthy” fat (omega-3, the good kind that prevents against heart disease). They provide all 18 essential amino acids necessary for the body to form a complete protein (crucial for vegans) and help improve your absorption of nutrients when combined with other foods. Last but not least they help to reduce signs of aging, regulate blood sugar and improve eye health.

3. Unlike traditional mousses, you won’t find an ounce of dairy in this dish (which is difficult to digest and highly acidic, causing inflammation and potentially leading to wrinkles and breakouts). Instead it contains coconut milk which is completely dairy-free and rich in fiber, vitamins and minerals. Coconut milk is also high in lauric acid, which helps to destroy viruses and diseases and plays a fundamental role in building your body’s immune system, which is essential to help your kiddos ward off those pesky germs that can run rampant at daycare and on the playground.

Now I could probably go on and on about this mousse (like about how there’s no white sugar in this recipe and only natural sweeteners to enhance the taste and texture like dates) but instead I’ll let you get to it and see for yourself.

Oh yeah, and for more delicious & nutritious recipes, please check me out on sofreshNsogreen.com. Thanks lovelies and of course Pretty Wednesday for having me!

Ingredients

Serves 2

1 cup coconut milk, full fat from the can

1 small avocado,  ripe

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

sprinkle of sea salt

1 tbsp maple syrup

5 tbsp cacao

8 dates, chopped, pitted and soaked for 30 minutes in warm water

DSC_2204 DSC_2200

1. Combine coconut milk and chopped dates in blender and blend. Then add additional ingredients and mix until well-combined.

2. Pour mixture into ramekins or small bowls and top with sea salt. Refrigerate for 4 hours or freeze for at least one hour.

 

DSC_2221 DSC_2224

 

 

Enjoy!

One thought on “vegan chocolate mousse

Share Your Thoughts

