the truth is || patience

DSC_0317Somehow, I thought that once I became a mom that sweet little virtue some people have called patience would magically appear within me. Wrong.

Traffic still makes my blood boil. Saying the same thing 2,374 times in a row makes me want to run away. Slow help at the check out stand quickly sends my goods back to the shelf. And taking 13 minutes to get from one level of my house to another assures I’m fuming.

I wish I was one of those moms that could tune it out when their child interrupted their conversation or could very kindly watch as their toddler threw themselves on the floor of Target because she wasn’t allowed to paint her face with the makeup samples. But, I’m not.

I realized not too long ago that as soon as I accepted that although mother hood changed my life dramatically, it couldn’t completely conform my personality I would be better off.Β I’ll never be the MOST patient but I have enough patience for us. I am raising a child that pushes me just to the edge but never quite over. So, every day I accept who I am, how it’s going to make me react in situations and work on adjusting to the constant shifting of a sweet and salty toddler.

Enjoy! Melissa

PS These pictures are from a Saturday where we were all going to collide or get out of the house for a bit. We saved ourselves at the Pacific Science Center and ended up having a pretty great time.

 

DSC_0329^^ M and Ky were paper airplane masters.

DSC_0348 DSC_0334 DSC_0324 DSC_0365^^Apparently, this is me at 70. The left is normal aging and the right is with UV exposure. Lets just say I may be moving to a dark, dark cave soon.Β 

DSC_0363^^I still have no idea what kind of butterfly this is but we all had fun trying to spot them in the rainforest. Shows how much I learned.

Share Your Thoughts

