music is her love language

DSC_0279Give me a musical instrument of any kind and you might get a few plunks, toots or loud untamed sounds. Nothing more. I’m not what you call musically inclined but I’m thinking there is still hope for M. Every few months we make our way downtown for a Tiny Tot’s  concert at the Seattle Symphony and this month it happened to fall perfectly on Valentine’s Day. Once we make our way through the city, find a suitable place to park in the madness and maneuver our way into the concert hall, M gets to try out a few instruments with the help of the patient staff and bang around on some sturdier music making tools in the lobby before the concert starts.

She was pretty mesmerized by the french horn on this trip. She stood next to the kind lady playing and watched child after child take their turn pressing the buttons and playing (don’t you worry, it’s cleaned between every attempt) but she wouldn’t dare give it a blow herself. But me, well I’m a daredevil, so I puckered up and tried. Surprisingly, a loud sound came from the horn and, more surprisingly, my little peanut gallery of one started cheering for me. “yeah mama, yeah” Adorable!

Then we marched her and a few of her little friends into a concert hall where we clapped, learn a little sign language and sang along for a concert that M loved. When we signed up, I wasn’t sure if a musical 30 minutes would hold her attention but it surely does. She bounces up and down and claps when the time comes. I’m telling you folks, we’ve got the musical hope of the family right here. I can’t wait to see what this develops into.

Enjoy! Melissa

DSC_0274 photo (7) DSC_0281 DSC_0289

One thought on “music is her love language

Share Your Thoughts

