Decorating For SC

Favorite Christmas

Normally, I enforce the ‘one holiday at a time’ rule in our house. No decorating for Christmas until after Thanksgiving. Some of you may say bah humbug to that but I’m really not scroogy. It’s just that I love Thanksgiving (or not so much the actual day, more like I love the food) and I don’t want to breeze over it. I respect the person who tackles that Thanksgiving meal more then they’ll ever know and plan to NEVER let that duty fall in my lap (unless for some reason everyone would like cold, mistimed food and possible food poisoning…then OK) so lets raise our glasses to them and let Thanksgiving have it’s moment.

This year is different though. The season is shorter and we are heading out of town for a while to celebrate with family. So, this Sunday, it’s decorating day in my house. The lights are going up outside soon and we’ll be all ready to swing into full Christmas mode when we arrive home from our vaca. I thought I would share with you the things I’m most excited to be spending time with for the next month.

1. I bought this awesome print from Hen & Co this year and I am so excited to add it to my wall for the season. I’m finding that being able to change out prints seasonally is my favorite part of having gone through the pain of hanging a collage wall in my family room.  This little deer may sneak up a few days early as I’m being really impatient about getting to hang with him.

2. I’m a little (or a lot) crazy and insist that my Christmas tree only have matching ornaments. No mismatched pickles with sunglasses or dancing elephants on our tree. So, to allow for the fun ornaments, we have a small table top tree in our kitchen that gets all the mis-matchers. (I’m feeling like it sounds like the land of misfit toys, but I swear it’s not.) This year, we are adding our initials to the tree for a little sparkle.

3. In keeping with my crazy, I make a quick trip to Crate and Barrel every holiday season and pick up one or two new silver or gold ornaments for our big tree. These year, I’m into these! Clearly I’m into the silver and gold holiday theme but I think I would like to mix it up next year. What colors do you decorate with? Let me know if you have any recommendations!

4. Costco for the win on this one. I go every year and pick up a fresh garland for our mantel. Something about the fire underneath (burning with care obviously) and the stockings hanging just so make my house feel so cozy during the holidays. This year, I’ll also be stringing a paper garland from our pop-up-shop around the fresh garland for a pop of color.  (Reminder: Only 3 days left before the shop closes!!)

5. Most of the year I’m not a huge fan of personalized items. I just really don’t need to see my name everywhere but these stockings are so traditional that I have to do it. We each have one and Santa fills them along with a pair of pajamas on the side every Christmas Eve. (Thanks SC!)

6. I LOVE TO WRAP PRESENTS! I think it goes with my love for paper products but something about a well wrapped gift makes it that much better. Last year, I made salt dough gift tags  that could be used for ornaments (clearly not on your big tree, only on your misfits tree) as well. If you are looking for a fun punch on your gifts this year, I really recommend these.

 

Enjoy!

Melissa

 

5 thoughts on “Decorating For SC

  1. melissa my main tree (which is actually a skinny snaggly ass tree i bought at big lots for $20 4 years ago) is ONE GIANT MISFIT TREE. and i always want a pretty matching one, but alas, my dancing elephant (I REALLY DO HAVE ONE) ornament just HAS to go on the main tree. it HAS to. otherwise i would feel bad for her. i shall live vicariously through your beautiful tree this year. i can’t wait to see it! (also i am on the hunt for one of those tacky iridescent pink trees for Gemma’s room. let me know if you see one anywhere).

    • L! Don’t get me wrong – I adore a well done misfit tree. In my case, my misfit tree just ends up looking like ornaments puked on it. Not attractive. Yours, on the hand, is probably beautiful and magical! Also, I love that you are looking for a tree for Gem’s room. When I was younger we had a tree downstairs that only mom decorated and a small tree upstairs that the kids were in charge of ruining. We can both continue that tradition in our homes with these girls! I’ll keep my eyes out!

  2. We have the personalized PB stockings as well – love those! Now you’re making me feel behind schedule since we haven’t decorated yet! I’ll have to get into the boxes of end-of-season decor purchases from last year – went a little cray at PB and C&B!

    • B! We haven’t put it out yet either. Don’t worry!! And I love that you picked up things after the holiday. That’s how I got my PB tree skirt as well as the stockings. The best way to do it!!! We should go together this year after Christmas.

  3. Such a fun list!! I love the Christmas holiday, I think I add a new “bin” every year!! I just added gold to our Christmas colors this year, I change out the tree every year, we originally did Red & white, then red & silver, I added Green last year so it was red & green, but since I do my office tree as well I get to decorate 2 trees, which means more color coordinating ornaments!! And I LOVE it, I honestly think I would die for a sparkle or any Reindeer anything ( LOVE that cute print) :)
    LOL, I know Tim does not love that I feel the need to “add” a color every year but God love him he just smiles when I bring the bags home:) I think were going Red & white this year and silver & gold at my office….yay for sparkles!!!

Share Your Thoughts

