Dear Summer || I Love You

Aquirum4

I keep hearing the F word being thrown around all over the place. Fall…. People are pining away for the leaves to turn color, to sip on some hot cider and for chilly blanket loving nights. I have to admit, that for the first time in a long time, I feel like Seattle got a real dose of summer this year. We had months of basking in the warm ball in the sky we don’t often see and I won’t been sad this time around when fall really does arrive. {Some years, I feel robbed. Like I went from spring to fall and summer was about two weeks of bliss that slipped away.} But, I’m just not ready YET.

WHAT am I going to do with a toddler when we can’t just throw on some shoes in a cranky moment and take a slow walk around the neighborhood? I really, truly have no idea. Last fall and winter, she was so young that we spent our days indoors or running from the car to the shelter of a mall just to stretch our legs. Not going to cut it this year. Help!

So, for now, we are trying to squeeze in all the outdoor summer activities we can while they are available to us. We’ve been to aquarium, we hit the ‘beach’ about once a week, take walks through as many parks as we can find and have slowed our neighborhood strolls to a leisurely pace. Yesterday, I watched as my shadow made it down the sidewalk with a little hand-holding shadow next to it. It was one of those moments that you know won’t happen in any other season. Maybe never again since momma hand-holding doesn’t seem to be ‘in’ for the older kids these day. I’m just soakin’ it in!

Dear Summer. You are my favorite. Don’t leave yet.

Enjoy! Melissa

Aquirum2 Aquarium1 Aquirum3

6 thoughts on “Dear Summer || I Love You

  1. It’s still over 100* in the armpit of the US, and fall doesn’t arrive until practically January in Arizona. Missserable!

  2. I hear ya! I’m trying my very best to live in this amazing summer for as long as possible (even though I can feel Fall creeping in!).

Share Your Thoughts

