M’s Plate || ‘Green’ Smoothie

Green Smoothie

So, we went to our new easy little lunch and play place today and as I was paying the entrance fee, they informed me that my debit card wouldn’t work. You know that feeling of ‘i know i have money in that account’ ‘wait, i have money in that account right?’ ‘oh, god. someone has stolen my card number’? Then, after the panic, I remembered that last night, I let M unload my entire purse and she proceeded to check out each card and give them each a good rub on the hardwood floor. So, the question now is, ‘I wonder which card is next up in the ‘not going to work’ department?’.

Either way, we ate our little meal and got to playing and on the way home I practically had to steer the car with sheer will power away from the espresso stand and home for a healthier snack. Since I was clearly craving a drink, I went with a smoothie for our afternoon treat. I’m lucky in the way that if something is the least bit sweet, M will gobble it down. So, the key to smoothie making with her is to include a little fruit {and to put it in her favorite cup}.

I found this  smoothie recipe  while signing up for my favorite workout a few weeks ago {We’ll talk about Barre 3 one day. Have you been? If not, go!} and I just modified it a little to fit what I had available in my refrigerator.

|| ‘Green’ Smoothie ||

1/4 Beet – Peeled

8 oz. Unsweetened Coconut Milk

8 oz. Water

1 Cup Frozen Strawberries

1 Cup Kale

1/2 Cup Spinach

2 Chopped Celery Stalks

1/4 Orange – Peeled

Blend and Serve

Enjoy! Melissa

4 thoughts on “M’s Plate || ‘Green’ Smoothie

    • Go for it Bree! I think the little man will like it. If you are using a regular blender (as opposed to a smoothie blender which I don’t have but wish I did) or are worried about texture, use half the leafy greens. They tend not blend so smoothly sometimes. Let me know how it goes!

Share Your Thoughts

