The Tale of the Sting

Park1

Over the past week we have been to park almost every day. Somehow, outside in the 90 degree heat is cooler then inside my house and it gives M a chance to run free. Also, I’ve mentioned before that I could not make it through my days without M’s friends and their mamas. We have had little pals with us at the park every day keeping us company and damn it’s cute to watch these kids play.

And I could blab on and on about how it’s so great to spend our time outside but really I’m getting to the point of when it was just tragic to be at the park. This tale is from Friday afternoon and I have no pictures of it as who can document in the middle of panic but these nice happy pics from the last few days will do.

And the tragedy unfolds like this; M and I had a day with no plans and were planning to just get errands done and tidy up the house etc but little fussy pants was in a mood that required some time to let energy out and run around so I took her to the nearest little beach park. We ran around on the beach, we frolicked in the water, we played a little ‘soccer’ with a new friend and right before it was time to go, I decided I couldn’t let a nice day pass without adding a little fat kid time in. So, we hustled off and grabbed some sorbet, planted our happy butts down under a tree and started slurping our treat down.

Then it happened. A bee made an unusually loud appearance buzzing around us as madly as he could. Now that I think about it he apparently wasn’t happy about our choice in seating areas or wanted a taste of our sorbet. I gave him a little shew and yet he stayed. He buzzed around a bit while we ignored him and continued eating until M let out a giant shrill and started rubbing her face with a vengeance. Turns out that crazy, manic bee had landed on her eyebrow and decided to give her a sting!

I reached down, grabbed her , vacated all of our belonging and started running. We ran through the park like crazies. M crying in my arms, me shewing and flailing about until I got stung as well and the bee moved on to the lunch the people next to us had brought.

I mean really. What a bastard. Just sting a baby in the face, make me leave my sorbet behind marking the scene of the crime and move on to annoy some other park dwellers who are minding their own business.

Turns out, M’s a real trooper. Her eye was all red and swollen for a little while and into the next day a bit but she got over it quickly and the biggest scar is my newfound fear and hatred of bees.

Oh and if your wondering, my arm is ok too.

Enjoy! Melissa

Park8 Park7 Park2 Park6 Park4

6 thoughts on “The Tale of the Sting

Share Your Thoughts

