Traveling With A Little

DSC_0187

As Promised, a week after arriving back to the Pacific Northwest and all it’s glory, I am going to stop looking at vacation pictures now. But, lets wrap it up with some things I learned while traveling with an 11 month old.  Our trip was maybe a little different because we were visiting family which comes with certain luxuries.

|| Borrow what you can! My sister-in-law let us confiscate her stroller, car seat and high chair for the week. Amazing! It cut down on the stuff we were schlepping through the airport and gave M her own personal conveniences. With the amount of stuff we already had with us, I don’t think we could have handled adding these additional items to our load and we used all three items daily on our trip. Then, when we were leaving, we just nicely packed them all up and left them behind. Couldn’t ask for a better system! ||

DSC_0336

DSC_0352

|| Take Time For Yourself! Again, I know that we were awarded this time because we were visiting family but I feel like most of my friends are taking trips either with their family or to see family these days. So, use them. They want nothing more then to spend time with your little and you want nothing more then a moment to breath. To do this we booked a few adventures through Hawaii Adventure Center. Ky and I took off twice on our trip. The first was a sunset cruise and the second was an adventure filled ATV tour. It was a nice chance to hang with my hubby for a few hours and it gave our family some quality time with M. Win Win! ||

DSC_0373

|| Ship Ahead! With the cost of checked luggage and the limited number of hands we have to move all our stuff onto the plane, I decided to ship a few items ahead of us to my parents house. A few weeks before we left, I got on good ol’ Amazon and shipped our beach tent, M’s float-mobile and a travel crib. Best thing I did for us! These heavy items arrived there and were waiting on the doorstep for us. I just wished I had used this same foresight to ship diapers. I tried fitting them into our suitcase and they just took up too much room. So, I ran to the store when we got there only to find that just one brand was available in M’s size. Next time, I’ll be putting together a box from home and shipping these type of items {diapers, M’s snacks, etc} ahead of us. ||

DSC_0105

|| Enjoy! It’s VACATION! I had to tell myself that it was OK to be off our typical schedule. M would survive! And, she did! She actually was more relaxed there then I have ever seen her. She got flexible. Naps were mostly on the go. In the car, in the stroller, etc. and she slept through some crazy noise at night. It worked! And, we got to enjoy ourselves because we didn’t chain ourselves to the house for her schedule. It’s vacation! ||

Now, that song keeps playing through my head….”Back to life, back to reality….”. But, that’s OK. Vacation is vacation and it has to end sometimes. Plus, your own house is somehow such a luxury after you travel. My bed feels like new and I could stand in my shower for hours. So, until next time Hawaii. Alooooooha!

Enjoy! Melissa

4 thoughts on “Traveling With A Little

Share Your Thoughts

