Aloha || Airplane Lap Child

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

We’re Baaaack! I know. I ditched out. Didn’t even say good bye. And hopefully didn’t have you thinking I was gone for good. I wasn’t too far away and I didn’t run way {promise!}. I was just enjoying some time in Hawaii with my family!

So, Aloha! We’re back from a week of spending some quality family time, beaching it and eating way too many delicious meals. The trip provided so much eye candy and so much greatness that I’ll be updating you all week long! First things first though, we had to get to over the Pacific to our little island getaway.

Let me tell you, we are NOT travel experts with a child. Don’t let all those ‘tips for flying with a child’ on Pintrest fool you. It’s hard work to entertain an 11 month old for six hours. I followed all the ‘rules’. We had new toys she had never seen, Sesame Street loaded on the iPad and enough food to last her a good three months if needed. Some of that helped. The new toys provided about ten minutes of entertainment each {woo hoo!!} and I let her stuff herself full of food which occupied time until she spit up and we had a entire outfit change and ruined blanket saga {go me}.

The only thing that saved us was the miracle of all miracles. The only empty seat on the entire plane was between Ky and I. M used that seat like her parents had ponied up for it! She crawled through it, colored in it and laid down in it. After not having this luxury on our way home, I know how spoiled we were with this seat. Maybe ‘lap child’ isn’t in our future. It’s a bit much! My arms are sore from all the passing of M between us on the way home and I’m still feeling sorry for the very kind older gentleman who we made get up from the aisle seat about 1,000 times on the way home. Poor, poor man. He just wanted to read his Ernest Hemingway book and instead had M pulling his arm hair like a monkey and me constantly bashfully asking him to let us out from our seat cage once again.

Very tricky airlines. You have now convinced us that on top of paying for our overweight checked luggage and carrying a million pounds of baby gear through the airport we should purchase yet another seat on our next trip. Very tricky indeed.

Enjoy! Melissa

4 thoughts on “Aloha || Airplane Lap Child

  1. this sounds harrowing, but ultimately not the worst experience of your life… so a win! :) i have been next to the people with the baby before and honestly have always just felt sorry for them!
    kw ladies in navy

    • Kelsey! I knew the plane would be a challenge but couldn’t decide if it would be worth it. It totally was. Those few hours seem like nothing compared to the whole trip! Hope you get to go home soon. It was refreshing and also made me appreciate the comforts of the pacific northwest a little more!

  2. Tell me about it! We also had the good luck of an empty seat next to us, but it’s enough to prompt me to buy Pea his own seat next time (not that he does much actual sitting).

    • The empty seat was a miracle. She didn’t ‘sit’ in it either but it made things so much easier! I’m glad that you guys had one too. I swear, the airline is like, ‘let’s show these people what they could be getting if they spend more money’. It’s all a trick!!!

Share Your Thoughts

