My Gold Plated Drawstring Bag

DryGoods2

For some reason, I have a strange thing for boutique paper stores and fabric stores. I can spend hours in both. So weird, I know.

A few weeks ago, I stumbled into the holy grail of ‘hip’ fabric stores on Old Ballard Ave. Drygoods was everything JoAnn’s Fabric is not. Finally, fabric someone under the age of 75 actually wants in their home. Just one small glitch, I didn’t know how to do anything with this gold mine of a store or any of it’s awesome little nuggets. I had no experience at all sewing {besides the stuffed frog we hand sewed in ninth grade home ec which hardly counts}. Still, because I’m crazy, I purchased two yards on fabric. Who knows what I was planning to do with it. Look at it? Admire it? {Probably!}

Then, cue the angels singing. {OK, well not that dramatic but still exciting stuff.} I found out that Drygoods offers sewing classes in their studio. I feel like Etsy and Pinterest have brought the art of hand making goods back in style. Everyone is clamoring to be a chef in their home kitchen or whip up their own knitted hat {so, I pretty much just described every hipster ever but you get it}. This studio is genius. Finally, I had the chance to learn an actual craft.

The class was exactly what I was looking for. We learned the ins and outs of a sewing machine, I was allowed to sip on my latte that I bought in the coffee shop underneath the store {I should have never been trusted with any liquids anywhere in the same room as those sewing machines. Thankfully, I contained my inner child and didn’t spill. Promise!}, used all sorts of fancy tools, threaded our machines and came out with a little bag that we each sewed. How cool is that? I have something that ,on my first time on a sewing machine, I made! If you ever get the chance to learn a new craft, take it. Something about that little bag being made with my own hands was so empowering.

I think I might frame it. Or better yet, maybe bronze it. Where can I learn to do that?

Enjoy! Melissa

DryGoods3

DryGoods1

DryGoods4

PS This post is not sponsored. I know you were wondering! I just had THAT good of a time. And PPS Aren’t my friends just so cute? We are like kindergarden children bringing our art projects home to mom. And, if for some reason you wanted to learn how to wear a grey sweatshirt 3 ways, we can show you. The end.

6 thoughts on “My Gold Plated Drawstring Bag

  1. That’s awesome! And what a cute place. I totally get your love for fabrics. I can spend hours in a fabric store just taking it all in. And I buy it all the time with no idea what to do with it. That’s one reason I love quilting; it gives me a way to use it. :)

    • I would buy this whole store if I could! Just more trendy then the average fabric store. Maybe I can have you show me a few sewing tricks? Or pick up some fabric for you to play with!

      • I’d LOVE to help you. What is your next project? The more you do, the more confident you will get, and tricks you’ll learn. But I love the classes too because you always pick up interesting ideas from others. I need to check out this store!

    • Ha! No planning in the tops. We just showed up like that. And all the prints they gave us to use were so cute. I couldn’t decide which I wanted for my bag.

  2. At first I was a little overwhelmed by the sheer amount of information,
    so I started using just a few of the tools and resources that I knew
    I needed. I never envisioned it as my primary marketing strategy.

    Read this 2-part article series for 10 web design tips for
    increased internet marketing effectiveness.

Share Your Thoughts

